img_8532

On November 5th, 2016, I hiked my first 4,000 foot mountain in New Hampshire. I only have 47 more to go before I complete them all!

It was a really challenging hike for me, even though roundtrip it was only about 6 miles. My friends and I go on one or two hikes a year, often during the colder months, almost always in the Franconia Notch area of New Hampshire. We’ve traveled to a few of the Appalachian Mount Club’s huts, and I am a huge fan of the AMC’s huts. They’re run by dedicated staff, but some are closed or have limited availability during the winter.  I am partial to the Lonesome Lake Hut, as the hike in the winter is well worn, and you shave off some the hike length when you walk across the lake(when and if it’s safe!).

When we hiked up to Cannon Mountain, we took the Hi-Cannon Trail, which is less traveled than the trail to the Lonesome Lake Hut. At 4,100 feet, Cannon Mountain is the 12th lowest mountain of the 48. However, the weather still changes drastically as you get to the higher elevation. There’s also a ladder that you need to crawl up at one point.

img_8522

At the top of this ladder there is a cliff. You need to stand, turn, and continue on the hike. There’s no railing, so you might feel a little vertigo as you turn to keep hiking.

I’m telling this story because I’m hoping to hike more in 2017 than I have in any recent year. As a teenager, I hiked more often with the boy scouts. I’m hoping that 2017 proves to be the kickstarter to a true attempt at reaching the peaks of all 48 4,000 foot peaks in New Hampshire. If I can reach 3 in 2017, that would be a huge accomplishment.

I may go back to this hike again, to talk about preparing for it, and the challenges I’ll face physically.

img_8621

I may post again this year, but I’m not sure. If not, happy holidays!

