I’ve used SparkPeople.com periodically over the last 6-7 years. Sometimes it was every single day, tracking every single morsel of food. Other times, it was once a week or a bit of both every few months. I logged in for the first time in over 3 years, and noticed that my last weigh in wasn’t much lower than my current weight. I added my current weight and might check back in with it.

The thing is, the Spark People app is $3.99! Not $1.99 or $0.99, but 4 bucks!

I’ve been down the road where I track all of my food, but I’ve graduated from figuring out what my caloric intake is. I continue to make bad decisions, but it’s not because I’m not aware of the calories. A lot of Spark is about tracking the food you’re eating and learning about calories and how fat, carbs, and protein work. I think it’s a great tool for those who are just starting out.

I tweeted to SparkPeople last week to see if they’d refund an app purchase after a month if I wasn’t satisfied. They said they couldn’t, but that there’s a mobile site option. I didn’t check it out, because there are plenty of health-related apps that could be used that are free. The mobile web option just isn’t that user friendly when I’ve used it for any other site. I can’t check a website with ease, when compared to an app.

So I’m still searching for the best apps to consider, and finding ways to stay on task. I have come to realize, though, that there really isn’t an app that can keep you on task more than self discipline.

Also, I didn’t weigh in this weekend because I was away and didn’t want to use a scale that wasn’t mine.

Let’s see what this week brings!

