Why not?

I’m planning on biking every day until I can’t…and for the foreseeable future, I don’t see any reason why I can’t go more than 2 months riding.

There could certainly be exceptions. There might be a day I go without riding…but I’m going to do whatever humanly possible to avoid that. If it means I only ride around the block, then so be it. I’m still riding. Distance isn’t important, the action is.

I’m also going to start running. Maybe it’ll start with jogging. Maybe I’ll jog 20 yards and then walk 60 yards. Doesn’t matter the distance, it matters that I’m pushing myself. It might start out as just twice a week.

I’m going to get into a habit of doing sit ups and pushups. I have never done either with any regularity, but I’ve always thought about it. I’m hoping to start tomorrow. It might be Tuesday.

Why not?

In my head, I’m thinking the first one is the easiest, the second is the toughest, and third is the least likely to be followed through. I’ve had each of these conversations in my head hundreds of times. Hasn’t anyone, looking to make permanent changes to their lifestyle, done the same?

It’s not a diet. It’s not working out, either. It’s just what I do. I’m a biker. I will be a runner. I will be a guy who does sit ups, pushups, and eventually other exercises that I’ve never heard of or don’t know how to do yet.

Why not?

There’s no good answer to ‘Why not?’.

