This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Isn’t it amazing how you can change the direction of your focus, just by doing something? I’ve biked over 30 miles over the last two days, and it has reminded me of how much I enjoyed biking last summer. I really plan on busting the bike out for a record number of miles this year.

Last night I went biking with the gf, and we stopped at the home of the Brooklyn Cyclones, the low level minor league team of the New York Mets. We were going to see about getting cheap seats(lol. All seats are cheap at the Cyclones), and a guy from a local college called us over. Free tickets! Woohoo!

Tonight I went biking alone and did a really big neighborhood loop before heading down to Coney Island and to the minor league park again. I stopped for a drink there, and waited around for 10 minutes before another guy offered me free tickets. I locked up my bike and enjoyed a few innings of baseball. It was fun.

I also passed along a street that doesn’t have an official bike lane, but the shoulder is big enough, it might as well be a bike lane. In NYC, bike lanes create big controversies, politically and legally. It’s kind of funny, in a way, because I’ve probably biked 500 miles on streets without bike lanes. Just get on your bike and go, whether there’s a lane or not. Just be careful!

