This morning I got up at about 5:30AM, for a 7:30AM test to join a volunteer scuba diving team at the aquarium. My girlfriend and I were really excited about it.

We both did really poorly. I did worse than her, but we both left dejected and mulling over what we should do to fix things.

We hadn’t dove since late August, which happened to be the height of my weight loss regimen during the summer. Aside from the usual rustiness of not diving for 6 months, I struggled with the very basic ability to control my body’s buoyancy.

We talked with the dive leader after the test, and he recommended a few things to get over the hump and because members of the team. One of the last things he said to me was ‘You need to lose weight.’. He wasn’t being mean about it, he was being matter-of-fact. My core strength sucks right now, and it’s because I haven’t been physically active.

I was so tired, I napped in the middle of the day. I haven’t done that since before I started my weight loss changes in June.

My friend told me about an opportunity to join his gym for a month for free.

Seems like this might be a good time to do that.

