There are 100 Days left in 2010. One hundred days until the calendar flips to 2011. Probably because the seasons ebb and flow along the calendar(unless you live someplace without much change in seasons), we are a society  that looks at autumn and winter as the end of something. Stuff is dying, the days are getting shorter, and people are being forced to slow down because the weather is changing. Summer houses are closed up, beaches close, and campfires are put out. It’s like migrating from the outdoors to the indoors.

It can also mean an end to whatever fitness was started while the temperatures were more agreeable. Soon, there will be holidays arriving and plenty of opportunities to eat, indulge, and blow away every ounce of weight lost during the pleasant months.  The ol’ hibernating bear, pack on the pounds in the winter, shed them in the summer…or most of them.

For the first time in a long time, it feels like this autumn & winter will be a lot different.

I did a quick look at the calendar to see what date was 100 days ago.  It was June 16th, the day of my first ride. Look at the sidebar, and you see how far I’ve gone. I’ve come a long way from where I was on June 16th. I’m not even halfway to my final destination, but it feels good to know that I am where I am.

I’m nearly at my second goal. I’m excited about that. I’m more excited that I’m just still here, still in the mindset of losing. 100 Days til 2011. 100 Days to make even more changes.

It’s really awesome.

And now, time to go riding!

