So Hurricane Earl is supposed to bear down on the northeastern states of the country. He’s supposed to stop by New York City by morning on Friday. In order for Day 3 of the 30 Days of Biking to take place, I will need to bust out the bike by 630-7AM for an hour ride. By 10AM, the rain will be here.

Today I biked 11.3 miles, and it felt great. The humidity was high and the temps were pushing the mid 80’s when I took the bike out around 4pm.

I opted to ride up my street about 2 miles and over a few blocks to a long bike route that runs along a main drag. I’ve taken photos like the one above before, but not from this angle. I biked about 5 miles on this route.

As you can see, it’s more of the same…but I love this path. There was a breeze, so the humidity wasn’t overbearing. Since this path is lined with trees, the sun wasn’t beating on me either.

If you remember a few weeks ago I biked to an outdoor movie, that area is located on the right of the photo above. I basically did a long reverse ride. It took me about 3 miles more to reach this location than it did when I went the night of the movie

—I just took a small break. My friend is staying with me for a few days and I needed to get my bike out of the spare room so I can go riding early in the morning. There was once a time where I’d just think, “Oh, I’ll get to it in the morning…” and then not do it. My bike’s now in the middle of the living room. Gotta do it now!

When I took this photo from my bike, I was thinking, “This is a really boring photo.”. Well, it is. The thing is, this particular corner is on the route of one of my most used routes. I go by here all the time. It’s the gap of street that isn’t by the shore or on a bike path. It connects me to the more interesting routes. I figure I’m not the only one with ‘mindless’ streets that you have to ride down to get to another, more interesting, road.

You can’t see it, but the bridge by the water that I’ve shown so often is located behind the trees on the right side. I’ve biked this route so much, but very few times in a reverse route. I had the tailwind by the water and that made the ride much nicer.

Overall, great day!

