I biked for the first time in about a week, covering 8.5 miles in an easy loop by the sea.

This is a bit down my street, and it’s the start of my routes that take me to the seaside. It’s about a mile to the pedestrian bridge I’ve shown before, and I use this first mile to loosen up a bit. It’s usually a lazy mile down the street before I start working hard.

This is a familiar shot, but the timestamp is different. In July, this view would’ve been at the end of my ride, when the sun was setting around 8:30. This was taken at about 7:10PM.  Nice ride along the shore tonight, I had mostly tailwind.

This was only about 10 minutes later, and as you can imagine, I returned home when it was dark. This view is the sun setting behind the borough of Staten Island. Just to the right of the sun, the Staten Island Yankees have a stadium. They’re the Single A Affiliates of the New York Yankees.

I don’t mind riding in the dark, but I’m pretty sure I will need to change my routes a bit based on lighting and safety.

Minneapolis is having an event called  30 Days of Biking, which I first heard of thanks to 100 Pounds In A Year. There is no minimum ride, just as long as you ride. I don’t live in Minneapolis, but I think this could be a really fun thing to do here in NYC. I thought this would make a great self challenge.

I think I can do this.

I will do this.

