Ah, the familiar photo of fading bike lanes on New York City streets. This was from this morning, around 10am. I had a great ride that started by biking about 2 miles north on the street I live on. There is a heavy Jewish population just north of where I live and they do not drive on weekend days. The photo above isn’t on that street, but I might try to get a photo of it on a weekend;it’s unreal how quiet it is. Great for biking in the city.

I decided I wanted to bike over the Manhattan Bridge into Manhattan and then over the Williamsburg Bridge back into Brooklyn. I woke up around 8 and had a bowl of cereal. By 9 I was filling up my water bottles and changing into my riding gear. I hadn’t taken the bike out in over a week, and just systematically got my shit together for a ride.

How nice does the street above look? Tree lined, a bike path, and great temperature in the 80s with low humidity. I couldn’t ask for anything more.

I opted to take the Manhattan Bridge instead of the Brooklyn Bridge because of the zero tourists and the gradual incline by comparison. The Brooklyn Bridge is crowded and has two inclines. I’ve shown this bridge before, but not this view I don’t think. There were plenty of bikers on it, but they were like me. Just trying to get over the bridge, not looking for great views.

In the far distance, you can see the two peaks that make up the Williamsburg Bridge. I’ve previously incorrectly called it the Triboro Bridge, which is located much further north in Manhattan. The ride from the Manhattan Bridge to the Williamsburg Bridge was great. Unlike the ride from the Brooklyn Bridge to the Manhattan Bridge, I didn’t really need to dodge crazy traffic. Maybe that was partly because it’s Saturday and partly because there are well defined bike lanes.

My ride over the Williamsburg Bridge was the first ever. I didn’t know what to expect. This incline was fairly tough after biking over the Manhattan Bridge. It only got worse though.

I didn’t know it until I got further along, but there are TWO inclines on the Williamsburg Bridge. It’s a hella big bridge. I took this when i stopped to take a swig of water.

At the crest of the bridge, there’s a walkway connecting the two sides of the bridge. This bridge accommodates cars, pedestrians, cyclists and trains! Talk about making full use of your space! Though one side of the bridge is for cyclists and the other is for pedestrians, it seems pedestrians use both sides.

You can kind of make out the tops of the towers that make up the Manhattan Bridge here. As you can see, it’s a beautiful day.

I got a little lost after I got off the bridge, but found my way to a familiar route for the rest of the ride home.  In all, I covered21 miles. I thought it would be a bit more, but 21 was great for not riding in over a week.

I found a few more roads that I hope to make use of when I plan longer routes. If I can find more like this one above, I’ll be all set.

So, overall, today was an awesome day before even noon:30. I covered  21 miles in just under 3 hours. The bridges kind of kicked my ass, but in a good way. I may see about riding tomorrow. If not then after work Monday.

One thing I’ve been thinking about is biking to work. I need to research the details of that. I’ve heard of using baby wipes to kind of ‘clean up’ after riding to work..but I’m not sure what the full story is.

Have a great weekend!

