Nearly every Saturday, I hope to highlight a writer or two that has made an impression on me in some way.  The title of the series is simply a reference to the fact that I am a stranger to the people I’m reading. I’ve never met them, so they’re strangers. Strangers are strange!

One of the bloggers profiled this week is relatively new to G96, but it’s someone who’s about to reach a major milestone in their weight loss journey.

Fatman Getting Skinny

John Parkins is a weight loss vlogger. It’s an interesting approach, using a video blog instead writing, that I think is incredibly effective for inspiring others. John’s closing in on his goal of losing 100 pounds, and he has been vlogging every day along the journey. You cannot help but go back and see where he started. He literally transforms before your eyes. It’s like a live action ‘before’ and ‘after’ photos.

He twitters and he facebooks, and I highly encourage you to follow along as he closes in on his journey. He’s open to questions from readers, and even responded via twitter when I asked what his ‘go to’ snack is. Turns out, he loves bananas.

Steve v4.9

I’ve been reading Steve’s weight loss blog for years. I think I first discovered him when he was Steve v4.7, and I’ve been following along ever since. He has lost close to 150 pounds!

I enjoy his blog because he switches things up from seriously thinking about his weight loss journey to posting hilarious video clips that he has run into.  He’s a fair example of the kind of blogger I aspire to be like. He talks about his own journey, and the overall scope of losing weight in a way that is engaging.

Previous Issues of Views From Strange (Wo)Men

