Patrick, over at Responsibility 199, nominated me and 14 other bloggers for the Versatile Blogger Award.  Here are the guidelines:

Rules

The rules for the award are as follows:
1. Thank the person giving the award
2. Share 7 things about yourself.
3. Nominate 15 newly discovered blogs.
4. Let your nominees know about the award.

So here I go!

1. Thanks, Patrick!

In my newest and final version of my weight loss blogging, Patrick has been following from near the beginning and I’ve very much appreciated his commentary and his own blog is super. I highly recommend you read along with him. He’s great!

2. Share 7 things about yourself:

  • I was a perennial winner of a local community road race when I was a kid. Between the ages of 7-11, I finished first in my age group 3 times, and third place 2 other times.
  • I once bought a bag of Fritos, and they had a promotion where you scratch a card inside and could win another bag. I proceeded to win 6 times and had 6 opened bags of Fritos to deal with!
  • I weighed 220 pounds in 9th grade.
  • I was awarded the ‘Mile Swim’ Award during a trip to Boy Scout Camp, and a friend & I sang the whole way. Breast stroke with our heads up made it possible.
  • I didn’t start eating fish for dinner until very recently. Mahi Mahi & Tuna are great when marinated!
  • I didn’t go to high school with most of my closest friends, but the majority of us attended the same college.
  • I had plastic surgery when I was a few months old.

3. Nominate 15 newly discovered blogs.  It takes a great writer to draw me in, so I don’t have 15 newly discovered blogs. Instead, I’m going to nominate writers that I love, but don’t think they’ve been given the Versatile Blogger Award.

  1. 100 Pounds In A Year – I’ve been following Andrew since nearly the beginning of his journey. He’s had ups and downs and sometimes goes a bit of time between blog posts. However, he has returned and looks to be battling the bulge once again.
  2. Andrew Is Getting Fit – I’ve read Andrew’s blog through several versions of my own blogging. He’s great to read if you have any hesitation to get out of the house for a workout, because he gets out rain or shine, heat or cold.
  3. Discipline Or Regret – The third Andrew on the list! This Andrew has done a helluva job transforming himself, and his video blogs are great to watch.. He’s a motivational weight loss blogger that I enjoy very much.
  4. 344 Pounds – Shawn is a relatively new find, and I’m glad I found his blog.  A recent post can summarize why I enjoy his writing. It’s titled ‘Willpower to Lose Weight‘ and it’s something I can relate to easily.
  5. Losing Harry – Al is a blogger who is going to lose 250 pounds, the weight of the average adult man. He named that weight Harry, and he’s looking to lose him. He’s biking 2555 miles on  his stationary bike to help him reach Las Vegas and his weight loss goal!
  6. Stages of Change – A blogger that has returned from an absence and a renewed sense of determination. I eagerly await his posts all the time.
  7. The Anti-Jared – I feel like there is no way this guy hasn’t been given this award by someone else yet. I will say this about Tony Posnanski; When someone reaches a certain point in their weight loss life, they stop ‘hoping’ for success. They start getting angry, fired up, determined and then blow the doors off the hinges that have held them back.  He has an incredible talent, and I look forward to seeing how his blog and his life transition.
  8. The Daily Diary of a Winning Loser – Sean is a bit like Tony, as they’ve both dropped a ton of weight.  His blog is entertaining, and he really touches upon many aspects of the mental battle that I can relate to.
  9. One Man’s Trip To The Half – Zeusmeatball is another 200 pound loser, and I believe I’ve been reading him longer than any other blogger that has lost that much weight. He’s a great writer, and his style is unlike any other you’ll find in the blogosphere.
  10. Thick To Thin In Fredericton – William is going to lose 100 pounds, and I like that he lists his food every day. It gives me ideas when I’m not sure what I want, but I’m hungry and want something isn’t bad!
  11. Who Ate My Blog? – Stephen is on a great journey, and he is going to lose 400 pounds. He’s a great guy, and I’m certain someone else has given him this award…but I don’t see it on his blog, so I’m giving it to him again!
  12. Steve V4.9 – I’ve followed Steve through a few versions of his blog, and thoroughly enjoy checking in on the guy who has lost 150 pounds.
  13. One day at a time… – A recent find, I like Alan’s commentary because he’s very similar to me in where he is and where he wants to be.
  14. Go Fat Kid – One of the regular bloggers I check in with, always worth the read.
  15. Fat Daddy Rants – FDR hasn’t blogged in more than a month, but I check in every few days to see if maybe he has returned. When he does, it’ll be a sure sign of a versatile blogger.

I apologize to the female readers that this was an all-male award nomination, but sometimes I think it’s good to put a focus on men in the weight loss blogging community, because there’s a bit less support with men that women can find relatively easily.

