I was starving at lunch time today.

Really starving.

I was craving a hamburger deluxe…which is a fancy name for a Giant Burger WITH LOADS OF FRENCH FRIES.

That’s what my mind reads my hunger sensors as. Give me a burger! Gimmi a burger, now, fat man!

But, you know what?

I didn’t.

This happened a few weeks ago when I tried tofu instead of going for the burger deluxe. This time, I made my way to the wrap/sandwich station and stared long and hard at my options. I certainly couldn’t walk up and list the 4 or 5 things I wanted in my wrap. I honestly don’t know what goes well together.

I’ve mainly stayed away from them because I’m picky about what foods are thrown together. I feel like everybody that walks up to the wrap station is an expert. They all know exactly what they want, and they know what goes together and what doesn’t. I really have no idea! Is there anything more embarassing than not knowing what can go in a delicious chicken wrap?

It worked out okay though. I got a chicken wrap with brown rice, beans and cheese in a wheat wrap. There were random onions and peppers in it that I didn’t care for, but overall it was a delicious experience. No food coma like following a burger deluxe, and I’m damn near certain there’s no way the caloric intake was as bad.

Moments like entering a deli starving are tempered by the reality that I’ve biked 140 miles in a month and have lost just 10 pounds to date. That’s so, so, so much work that can be ruined by LOADS OF FRENCH FRIES.

This is just the beginning of the larger war, but I felt like today I won a little skirmish with the fatness.

