My girlfriend’s birthday is tomorrow. She’ll be 27, and I’ve known her a long time. So long, that she hardly ever expects me to get a gift right. lol. It’s true, I’m a shitty gift giver. There are no two ways about it. Anyway, I’ve been trying to get better at it over the last few years, and think I’ve done it.

She’s been obsessing about a diamond/leather bracelet that was featured in a magazine months ago, where proceeds benefit Haiti relief or starving kids, or some sort of benefit. I’m so aloof, I really didn’t pay attention to which cause it was for.

I’ve had employment issues for more than a year, so whenever I get some money, I try to be frugal with it. Spend it with brains, essentially. I came into an extra bit a few months ago and sprang for the bracelet through the right website to ensure the benefiting organization got their share. I’ve been sitting on it since. I thought about giving it to her without an excuse, but then pretty much forgot about it after putting it in a place she wouldn’t find it.

She loves coffee. She literally has 8 travel mugs for the coffee I make for her every morning. She only has one travel cup for her iced coffee…which is the leftover coffee from the various mornings that end up in the fridge. I decided to get her another one.

This new travel coffee cup(w/ straw!) was located at a store that was said to be 9 miles away. I found a nice easy bike route to follow almost the entire way, and had the tailwind off the ocean for my entire trip. I was a bit tired when I turned around, and it was entirely because I was dealing with a brisk headwind.

I made it back to a pier before looking at my bike map to find a new route home. I couldn’t battle the headwind for 9 miles. I found a winding route that unknown to me(until I got home) added a few miles. Instead of an 18-19 mile trip, I pulled off a 25 mile trip.

It felt good though. For the first time, I actually felt tired by the time I got home. Maybe too tired. I’m planning on biking nearly 20 miles tomorrow w/ the girlfriend as part of her birthday celebrations.  However, she’s a leisure rider, so I think it’ll be okay. I’ve been abusing myself quite a bit by biking. Pushing further each time.  I’m not overextending myself, just forcing myself to get up and get out. This is the first time I may have overextended myself.

And here are a few pics of my journey.

Lots of my journeys start here.

NYC has great bike route markers.

Resting at a pier while rerouting my way home.

I’m not sure about my posting for the next 4-5 days. I may end up on a little mini-vacation, but I’m not quite sure yet. I may be on the twittery space, so look for me there. Have no fear though, I’m not dropping off the map, just unplugging from the internets for a bit. May have another blog update before I really unplug.

Have a great week, a better weekend, and keep on keepin’ on.

