Just a quick update, but may have another later on today. We’ll see how the day shakes out.

I’ve biked 22 miles in the last week. That’s more than I’ve biked in any week for quite some time. Typically what happens is I go biking once, and then forget about doing it for a few months. I’m hoping this new goal puts an end to the madness.

Summer officially started on June 21st. In my mind, I toyed with the idea of biking every day during the summer. I quickly squashed that idea because it’s unrealistic for me. No matter how hard I try, I will not bike every day of the summer.

So, I’ve devised a better plan that is more realistic.I think it’s still very ambitious, but in order to lose weight you need a strong desire to accomplish something.

I want to bike 500 miles. I think it will take 50 trips, covering 10 miles each. Of course, a few 15 mile trips will bring the total number of trips down.  At the same time, there might be some trips that fall short of 10 miles. Regardless, I think 50 trips is doable, while being a challenge.

I’ve added the biking numbers to the sidebar, and will continue to do so. I think it’ll be a fun exercise. When I reach 500, I’ll look at modifying the goals to reach 1,000 miles.

The important thing for me is to not get too ahead of myself. I’ve always gotten off track when I’ve had a modicum of success at weight loss. Looking at it the way I am now, it’s not success, it’s accomplishing the goal I set for myself. “Onederland” is the success. 260,250, 230 and on down are summit points, but they’re not finish lines. Same goes with 100 miles, 250 miles, 400 miles. Success will be 500 miles and planning 1,000.

I don’t have an end date for the 500 miles, because I don’t think that’s a good idea. I don’t want to rush myself to go biking and wind up hurt. I had a friend that biked 43 miles one day and can’t bike for months because of tendons in their knee. I think I’ll finish the 500 miles by the first day of Fall, but it’s not set in stone. Charge after it, but let it come to you! =)

